Review: Foxcroft Shirt

Mad for plaid!

The very nice folks at Foxcroft asked if I’d be willing to review one of their non-iron shirts. Having recently rediscovered how a button front shirt can add polish to a simple ensemble, I agreed to test drive one and report back. I selected this plaid number, which is predominantly teal but also has some subtle green and purple bits.

First impression: the fabric is very light and soft, much more so than Foxcroft shirts I’ve tried in the past, and other non-iron shirts currently in my wardrobe. The fit was almost perfect, other than a slight gaping at the bust line but this is the case for almost all of my button front shirts, and easily remedied with a strategically placed safety pin. Princess seaming provides a nice neat fit through the torso. Once I’d determined the size was right, I decided to laundry-test the shirt right away to see if it defied wrinkles. I washed per the care tag, and dried on medium heat (our dryer doesn’t do “low”) for 30 minutes with some other lightweight clothes, and….yes, it delivers! Though as with any no-iron shirt, if you want that starchy-crisp look, you will need to press a bit. I can live without that. I like that the collar has enough body so that I can wear it popped, down, or halfway up. I’m wearing it popped here to keep the afternoon sun off the back of my neck.
As we’re now in our warmest season here in Southern California, I’ll be very happy to have this lightweight and colorful shirt handy for workdays and weekends. It looks great with jeans, but I’m also going to try pairing it with tan or black pants. Maybe even a pencil skirt if I’m feeling adventurous.

Foxcroft has also offered readers of une femme a 20% discount! Use code FEMME20FX. (Cannot be combined with any other promotion.)  Lots of styles and patterns available, too. If you love the look of a button front shirt but hate to iron, you really should give Foxcroft shirts a try.

You can shop the entire collection here.

“Byron! Quit scratching the screen door!”
“Ah, so you just wanted to be in the picture…”
“Watta good boy!”

Disclosure: shirt provided by Foxcroft in exchange for this review.
~

All original content property of https://unefemme.net

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 United States License.

Stay in touch.

Affiliate links in posts may generate commissions for unefemme.net. See my complete disclosure policy here.

22 Comments

  1. Anonymous
    September 12, 2012 / 11:03 am

    Bought a black/white plaid Foxcroft shirt in the spring–love it –it still looks new–i keep checking for new plaids, checks, or stripes. 20% will make looking easier. Merci to you and Foxcroft.

  2. September 12, 2012 / 11:32 am

    Thanks for the review. I seem allergic to the iron, so I am glad to know the no-iron is for real! Wonderful plaid you selected.

  3. Anonymous
    September 12, 2012 / 11:47 am

    The Foxcroft blouses are great, long lasting and always fresh looking. I find the fitted version with princess seaming is best for me. Some of the other styles are too boxy.
    Enjoy your blog and insights. The new layout is great, especially the top row of topics. Love all the great pictures of France and the lavendar with the bee. Have a great day!
    Marywyatt

  4. September 12, 2012 / 12:48 pm

    sadly all the no iron shirts seem to be in the women’s sizes–no missy sizes, at least not that I could find on the website. I would love to have their 3/4 length sleeve white blouse, but it looks like it only comes in the larger sizes. Bummer!

  5. September 12, 2012 / 3:00 pm

    I haven’t yet tried Foxcroft so I have nothing to add there, but I have to say Byron is one handsome little man.

    Cindy

  6. September 12, 2012 / 3:03 pm

    That’s a great flattering fit on you!
    I think no iron is a time saver for us busy working gals, I wonder if a woman was behind this technology!

  7. Elle
    September 12, 2012 / 3:23 pm

    I have always found that Foxcroft shirts run really big, but maybe the princess-seamed ones will fit better. Thanks for the review.

  8. Neats
    September 12, 2012 / 7:04 pm

    This is a blog for women over 50. Foxcroft’s shirts do not come in plus sizes and do not come in anything larger than a 12. Tabling for a moment the fiscally unsound decision not to offer plus sized products, to offer nothing larger than a 12 for a group 50+ women is just wrong. Surely you understand that more than half your readers are a 14 or larger.

    Review should read something like, “I was asked by Foxcroft to review a shirt. Since their sizing does not fit enough of my reader’s, I declined to review or support a company that does not support or include my readers. For shirts that fit real women, try Brand A, brand B or Brand C.”

    Ahhhhh, a girl can dream of stance taking . . . .

  9. Pam @ over50feeling40
    September 12, 2012 / 12:41 pm

    Let me confirm that the no-iron Foxcroft shirt is for real! I love them for work..you just cannot do anything to them for a wrinkle and I love looking the same at the end of the day as I did at the beginning of the day. This plaid is so much fun. There is alot you can do with it!

  10. Marie-Christine
    September 12, 2012 / 9:19 pm

    But, but.. it makes you look like you have no neck! Which we know isn’t true. That collar is just wrong, please don’t!

  11. Joanne Johnson
    September 12, 2012 / 10:27 pm

    I love this shirt on you! After reading Marie-Christine’s comment about the collar, I looked again … and I still think you look great! I’ve been lurking here for almost a year, and always enjoy reading your take on fashion, and Paris, and anything else! (Our first visit there was July of 2011…afterwards, that’s how I found you — searching for the like-minded.) Best regards to you from Joanne Johnson in Bay Village (Cleveland), Ohio.

  12. Sarah
    September 12, 2012 / 5:07 pm

    It’s a very nice shirt and you look great in it too… Love the plaid. And how cute is Byron ? Adorable! x

  13. The Style Crone
    September 13, 2012 / 3:13 am

    You’re looking very chic in your Foxcroft shirt, and I am loving your shoes. Along with your very photogenic dog!

  14. Diane
    September 13, 2012 / 3:46 am

    Re: the bust line gap (which I have issues with too): Topstick! Toupee tape, found at beauty supply and wig stores, is great for this and is much less noticable than a safety pin (also easier to postition). My tip o’ the day.

  15. Gretchen
    September 12, 2012 / 11:34 pm

    Good looking shirt. Good looking dog. Good looking shoes, too!

  16. September 15, 2012 / 4:41 pm

    Thank god for Marie-Christine’s candour, b/c I thought the same thing. And a safety pin at the bust- predict that eventually you will not like that. Princess seaming is a great feature but this big jumpy plaid would not draw me. Both you & puppy look fab, with glossy coats.

  17. September 16, 2012 / 3:18 am

    No ironing needed??? Sounds good to me!
    Byron DOES look like my Tobi! SO sweet!

  18. April 5, 2013 / 11:48 pm

    Duchesse, I think the neck issue has more to do with the angle of the camera. Busty women always need a safety pin or tape at the bust – but the crisp look of a blouse is worth it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PRIVACY POLICY

We do not share personal information with third-parties nor do we store information we collect about your visit to this blog for use other than to analyze content performance through the use of cookies, which you can turn off at anytime by modifying your Internet browser’s settings. We are not responsible for the republishing of the content found on this blog on other Web sites or media without express permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice.

error:
powered by chloédigital.