At-Home Try-On: Nordstrom Anniversary Sale (Round 1)

Susan B. shares Nordstrom Anniversary Sale product reviews. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

Retail reconnaissance from home…

Early Access for all Nordstrom cardholders begins tomorrow. So I thought I’d take this opportunity to share and review a few of the pieces I’d ordered to try.

Please note, some shady websites are stealing and republishing my content without permission. If you are not reading this at https://unefemme.net, please click through to read on the originating website.

In normal years, I would have visited my local Nordstrom and tried on some items there to photograph for you. But with things being as they are, I decided to stick to online shopping this year. (Besides, my store is small and doesn’t usually have all of the items I’m interested in.)

I still have a few items on the way, but here’s what I’ve received so far. There’s a lot of leopard print in this batch, just to warn you! 😆 I’m not wearing makeup, so as not to leave any marks on the clothes.

Nordstrom Anniversary Sale Try-On Round 1…

Vince Camuto v-neck top in leopard print from Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

This is the Vince Camuto leopard print top. It’s really nice! The fabric has a nice weight and feel to it, just a little heavier and crisper than the “rumpled satin” fabric in the same style. I’m wearing a Small here, would say that it runs TTS. Unfortunately the print is a little too dark and heavy for me, otherwise I’d happily keep it.

Halogen crewneck sweater in rust sequoia from Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

This lightweight cotton-blend sweater has 3/4 length sleeves that are gathered at the shoulders, and is still available in several colors. I’m wearing size Small, and would say it runs TTS. It’s a little long on me, though, and the color has a slightly blue undertone, so it will be going back.

J.Crew leopard print cotton tee in the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

I was on the fence about this tee. The colors are good, but it was too long for me. (Those who are taller or long-waisted may appreciate the length!) Ultimately I decided I didn’t need another leopard tee, but if you’re looking for a lightweight, fun summer tee, you might want to consider it. I’m wearing a Small.

Susan B. wears a Halogen sweater and Clare V leopard crossbody bag from the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

This is a really cute little bag! It’s lightweight and a perfect size for daily use. The webbed strap makes it comfortable to wear, and can be switched out for other straps. Again, the colors not quite right for me, so it will be going back. I’m seeing that it’s showing up as sold out at the moment, but but if you like it, bookmark and keep checking back. At least one will be returned to inventory by the end of the week. 😉

Caslon cotton jacket in leopard print from Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

I loved the cut and fit of this lightweight cotton jacket, but felt the print was too soft and cool for me. This is a nice budget-friendly piece, and as of yesterday was still available in all sizes. I’m wearing a Petite Small.

But yes, there were a couple of keepers in this batch (aside from my Kiehl’s lotion…)

The Keepers…

Zella twist-front tee from Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Details at une femme d'un certain age.

Now that I’m working out daily, I’ve decided that I need to invest in some activewear. This Zella twist-front top is really lightweight and comfortable! Bonus: the fabric is sustainably manufactured. I wore it yesterday for my workout. Wearing size Small. (Yoga pants purchased previously.)

Detail: Susan B. wears Cole Haan slip-on sneakers in camo-leopard print from the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale. Info at une femme d'un certain age.

These slip-on sneakers are SO comfortable! I’ve been wearing them almost non-stop. They are TTS in length, and run a little wide, IMO. I added a thin foam insole which made the fit perfect.

Yes, they also have a bit of black in the pattern, but since I’m not wearing them near my face, it’s workable. They were also still available in most sizes as of yesterday.

Don’t get discouraged right away if something you’re interested in is sold out. A lot of people shop online like I do, ordering multiple sizes or colors and keeping only a few. So keep checking back on your favorites; they may very well be re-stocked.

Stay in touch.

Affiliate links in posts may generate commissions for unefemme.net. See my complete disclosure policy here.

33 Comments

  1. Kelly
    August 12, 2020 / 4:28 am

    I thought the rust colored sweater looked amazing on you, even without makeup. Maybe it photographed differently than it appeared in person.

    • Karen
      August 13, 2020 / 11:11 am

      I agree!

  2. laura
    August 12, 2020 / 4:38 am

    Do returned items Go back into inventory? I’ve read some stores find it too expensive to re-integrate the items into inventory so just discard them.

    • Susan Blakey
      Author
      August 12, 2020 / 5:49 am

      In this case, I believe they do.

      • Laura
        August 12, 2020 / 6:01 am

        Oh that’s good. I am such a skeptic when it comes to retailers!

        • Marie
          August 12, 2020 / 3:42 pm

          From tracking some “sold out” items, I’ve seen them come and go, especially on Nordstrom.com – After a while, they may land at Nordstrom Rack (I’ve seen that as well) – I dont think they discard unless damaged.

          • laura
            August 12, 2020 / 4:04 pm

            That’s encouraging. Thank you

  3. Nancy
    August 12, 2020 / 4:43 am

    I concur with Kelly. That was my favorite and I think it flatters you. I struggle to see the “slight blue undertone”. Maybe the color didn’t appear the same as it does in person ? Thanks for this preview.

  4. Beverly
    August 12, 2020 / 5:12 am

    I think the rust sweater is a keeper. It looks great on you and is a perfect transition piece. I’m sad so much on my wish list is already sold out but I do know that things will get returned so I’ll keep on looking.

  5. RoseAG
    August 12, 2020 / 5:21 am

    The t-shirt with the contrast piping at the neckline is cute.
    It gives some neckline interest and you can skip a scarf or jewelry.
    I’ve had my sewing machine out making masks and would probably wash it once to see how the length ended up and then shorten.

    • Gayle Murphy
      August 12, 2020 / 1:24 pm

      What stitch do you use to shorten a t-shirt? I have found a hemmed t-shirt never works. The hem is stretched out, and buckles.

  6. Mary Clifford
    August 12, 2020 / 5:43 am

    Salut Susan!
    I bought the Clare V leopard bag last year when it first came out. I was a bit bummed when it showed up at the Anniversary Sale! I love my bag, but I will say, it is not an everyday workhouse, just due to the leather – it is soft and beautiful, but a bit on the take-care side of things. Love the shoes you got! I considered them but as I already have three similar pair, I went for the leopard print Hunter rain boots!
    Bonne journée!

    • candace
      August 12, 2020 / 7:31 am

      I agree, you look just wonderful!

  7. Candace G
    August 12, 2020 / 7:33 am

    You look just wonderful with any makeup That is a great suggestion (trying on ordered clothing without makeup to keep items clean).

  8. August 12, 2020 / 8:41 am

    The top and shoes you kept are good purchases. But I really liked the cotton leopard jacket as well. You said the print was too soft and cool for you. Are you sure? It gives off a yellow vibe which I think looks nice on you. Could be that the photo is not reflecting the reality of course .
    Greetje

  9. Mary Alice
    August 12, 2020 / 8:56 am

    May I suggest having the T-shirt shortened? I do it myself all the time and it’s a 5 minute job. I am sure any cleaners could handle it easily, and it makes such a huge difference!

    • Mp
      August 17, 2020 / 7:43 am

      Pls give the details for this. Thanks

      • Susan Blakey
        Author
        August 17, 2020 / 8:45 am

        Hi Mp, I’ve added the details in the post.

        • MP
          August 17, 2020 / 9:56 am

          Where?? I don’t see anything.

          • Susan Blakey
            Author
            August 17, 2020 / 10:02 am

            In the middle of the post, right before the Magic Bullet section.

  10. Lyn
    August 12, 2020 / 9:10 am

    That rust looks wonderful on you! I agree with the others. Give it another chance. (You also look great in the green sweater at the end of your blog, and I’m sure it has blue undertones as well.)

  11. Marta
    August 12, 2020 / 9:17 am

    What process do you use to return multiple items to Nordstrom? I don’t use on line shopping as the returns seems to be such a hassle. . . .

    • Susan Blakey
      Author
      August 12, 2020 / 9:19 am

      You can either return to the store, or mail them back. Each order comes with a pre-paid return label. Or you can process the return online and generate one. Then just drop off at the post office.

    • Susan Blakey
      Author
      August 12, 2020 / 12:47 pm

      Hi Elaine, I think it really depends on the store and merchandise. In this case, because these pieces are new season items and some may be in high demand, my assumption is they will be placed back in inventory.

    • Vicki
      August 12, 2020 / 5:01 pm

      Okay, I decided to contact Nordstrom as I plan to order multiple sizes and don’t want to feel guilty. Susan is correct; unless an item is defective in some way it is placed back into inventory. I had “heard” Target was sending returns to the landfill earlier in the epidemic. They said they were not reshelving items but were sending items to their warehouse which then restocked them. I did note that the DAV thrift store was overflowing today and things were being rained on as I contributed. I have pared my Nordstrom wish list.

  12. Angela in NZ
    August 12, 2020 / 12:42 pm

    From your comments on shade and hue are they perhaps more suited to Autumn colourings with the exception of the jacket which seems to be soft and cooler.

    • Susan Blakey
      Author
      August 12, 2020 / 1:21 pm

      Perhaps, or even a Blue Spring (someone whose “best” colors lean more toward the blues in the palette). I’d wear this color in trousers, but don’t think it’s as good near my face as a rust with more yellow.

  13. August 12, 2020 / 4:15 pm

    I agree with several of the other readers. The rust sweater looks fabulous on you. Not seeing a blue undertone. Have it hemmed at your clearers or tailor. Love the color (so Fall) but it doesn’t love me back. I need to visit the Nordstrom website immediately.

  14. Amy
    August 13, 2020 / 6:56 am

    I look for your recommendations all of the time. The only problem is that I am 5’6 and long waisted. Some of the clothes that look good on you are too short. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PRIVACY POLICY

We do not share personal information with third-parties nor do we store information we collect about your visit to this blog for use other than to analyze content performance through the use of cookies, which you can turn off at anytime by modifying your Internet browser’s settings. We are not responsible for the republishing of the content found on this blog on other Web sites or media without express permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice.

Read my complete privacy policy HERE.

- powered by chloédigital