Review: Covered Perfectly Tee

skinny jeans

This is the truth: when I slipped on this “In Spirit” limited edition tee from Covered Perfectly, it was so comfortable and the micro-modal fabric so soft that I didn’t want to take it off.

As with so many companies, the idea for Covered Perfectly was born out of necessity. The President and Founder, Pauline Durban, was frustrated by the lack of tops for women that had both sleeves and enough fabric to fully cover her torso, so she designed her own.  These tops of micro-modal fabric are made in the USA and are machine washable (lightweight and great for travel too!). Shipping to all 50 states and returns are free.

As mentioned above, I love the softness of this top. I was worried that the fabric might be clingy, but it’s not at all. The one I’m wearing is a limited edition, with an abstract design in blues and greens by Mindy Seeger. Because I’m short, this top fits more like a tunic, but that works for me. The design adds some visual interest, and keeps it from being just another black tee. I’m wearing a Small which was the recommended size for my measurements and the fit is slim but not tight. If you’d prefer a looser fit, you might want to size up, at least for this particular style. The light weight and smooth fit help this top to layer well; it doesn’t bunch up underneath a light jacket.

Covered Perfectly has several different styles and colors of tops available. Pauline was very helpful when it came to choosing the right style for my proportions. There are also designs with clever ruching, collars and cowl necks as well as a basic tee design. I think these tops are priced very well for the fabric and quality.

skinny jeans

Coco (left) and Byron (right) were tired of Lars getting all of the attention and asked to be in a photo shoot. But they’d never make it as models as neither of them would look at the camera!

The top I’m wearing was provided by Covered Perfectly for review. 

Stay in touch.

Affiliate links in posts may generate commissions for unefemme.net. See my complete disclosure policy here.

38 Comments

  1. Carla Meiners
    August 29, 2013 / 4:38 am

    I just ordered three of these tees. Exactly what I have been looking for! Thank you!

  2. Carla
    August 29, 2013 / 4:42 am

    I just ordered three of these! Thanks for the tip!

  3. August 29, 2013 / 4:52 am

    Perfect fit! I love a micro modal fabric as it tends to stay rather than pure cotton which might shrink and fade.

    Annette | Lady of Style

  4. August 29, 2013 / 5:00 am

    This top looks classic and perfectly fitted, Une Femme. I’ll go have a look a their offerings.

  5. DocP
    August 29, 2013 / 5:17 am

    Happy to see “plus sizes coming soon”, although that information is only available on the size chart page. I look forward to trying these tops when the plus size line is ready.

  6. August 29, 2013 / 5:31 am

    I’m guessing from what you’ve said that these are only available in the States. Sighs of envy!

    • une femme
      August 29, 2013 / 5:42 am

      Sue, they also currently ship to Canada for a flat rate of $14.95.

      • August 30, 2013 / 4:30 am

        Unfortunately I live in Spain! Hopefully if they do well they will expand. By the way, I meant to say that I love your dogs! My dog Lisa, funnily enough, seems to like having her photo taken.

  7. August 29, 2013 / 5:31 am

    I own two of Covered Perfectly shirts and they are amazing with the fit!! Yours looks great! I highly recommend them!

  8. Jill
    August 29, 2013 / 6:06 am

    Great review. Now I want one, you know I live in tees! I put up your photo on our “How I Wear My” Facebook page today. Adrienne and I both loved that sunglasses look! XO, Jill

  9. Hostess
    August 29, 2013 / 6:40 am

    You look wonderful in that tee…the fit is flattering. Don’t you love the soft fabrics that are available these days? It’s like wearing pj’s all day!

  10. August 29, 2013 / 6:57 am

    My dog will never look at the camera either. Apparently, she things her good side is her rear. Who am I to argue?

    Great shirt, and a great length on you!

  11. Amelie
    August 29, 2013 / 7:11 am

    I’m intrigued by the “In Spirit” version, but concerned about the caution, “be gentle with this one, don’t spoil the design”. Is the design somehow painted on or textural in some way, such that it might wear off?

    • une femme
      August 29, 2013 / 5:26 pm

      Hi Amelie, the design does have some texture and appears to be screened or printed on. I’d probably wash this inside out in cold water, and line dry to be on the safe side. The micro-modal fabric should dry very quickly on a line.

  12. August 29, 2013 / 9:54 am

    Just a couple of thoughts for alternatives to shopping …. #1: cotton tops that are a little faded (but not destroyed by stains, etc.) can be overdyed and given new life. I recently did that with Idye for cotton and am very happy with the results. (Go to Dharmatrading.com for more info.)

    Thought #2: If you sew, there are lots of options for long tunics. Lots of good patterns, lots of good fabric on the market (Marcytilton.com and Emmaonesock.com both have great ITY and microfiber knits).

    I know, both options are not for everyone.

  13. August 29, 2013 / 12:39 pm

    I’m looking forward to the addition of plus-sizes, too. There’s a cute cheetah-print top on the site that I’d love to add to my wardrobe, but I need it in an 18.

  14. August 29, 2013 / 12:56 pm

    quite possibly the chicest look for strolling about and walking the dog. you look great!

  15. martha
    August 29, 2013 / 4:31 pm

    Your hair is SO wonderful! I haven’t visited in a while, and am just stunned at your transformation! Well done!

  16. August 30, 2013 / 6:16 am

    Love love love your hair, and I’m going over to shop the tee’s. See you Tuesday for BIO, I hope!
    xx’s

  17. August 30, 2013 / 7:36 am

    A well-fitting tee is hard to find. Thank you for the recommendation!
    Love seeing your pups.

  18. Gammidedeux
    August 30, 2013 / 7:58 am

    Great look, Pseu! I wear a petite size, so I’m wondering if this brand would fit me. What do you think? BTW, recently found your blog, and I love it!

  19. August 30, 2013 / 10:00 pm

    Sleek silhouette! Fits you perfectly.
    My dog won’t often look at the camera either; she gets this suspicious look and turns away!

  20. August 31, 2013 / 7:59 am

    Slimming top but doesn’t look restrictive. I have to get over my aversion to $50 tees. Is the material thick enough not to see through? I hate that.

  21. eleanorjanebirdy
    August 31, 2013 / 12:50 pm

    Cute dogs!

  22. Mette
    August 31, 2013 / 8:34 pm

    Very nice, I particularly like the fact that you left the jewelry out. Your watch and the shoes are just enough.
    I disagree with the modeling skills of your dogs. Nowadays, models don´t necessarily ” stare ” at the camera ; ).

  23. Rivka
    September 1, 2013 / 5:26 am

    I enjoy your blog but admittedly have not looked at it in a while. I just want to say that your new hair color and length is fantastic! I really like it a lot.

  24. September 1, 2013 / 7:19 am

    I love how your hair drapes down your face in these photos. And the shoes! I’m off to visit Covered Perfectly. How could I resist!

  25. September 1, 2013 / 11:25 am

    Thanks for this recommendation – I really enjoy your blog! What I liked about my cheetah- print top: super fast and free shipping, great price, excellent fit. Only thing I didn’t like – the thin, almost sheer fabric. Didn’t expect that! Are the solid colors less sheer? Thanks again-
    Anne

    • une femme
      September 1, 2013 / 2:57 pm

      Hi Anne, this top isn’t sheer at all. The fabric is quite opaque.

  26. September 3, 2013 / 4:29 pm

    Love your hair color and cut! It’s inspired me to go a lot blonder than my dishwater-with-a-few-timid-highlights in a couple of weeks. How’s the maintenance? You look fabulous

    • une femme
      September 4, 2013 / 5:44 am

      Laura, thank you! I actually find the maintenance a bit lower than with the red hair. Red fades quickly, and this seems to hold the color quite well. Even though my hair grows slowly, I found the roots were far more noticeable with red, and 4 weeks was the absolute longest I could go between touch ups. Now I can easily push it to 5 and even then the roots aren’t very noticeable. The highlights are done every 12 weeks or so, and that’s the only part that’s more expensive than the single process red.

  27. Michèle
    February 19, 2016 / 11:54 pm

    Bonjour, je ne parle pas anglais et c est très dommage car j’ adore aller sur votre site, j ai 65 ans et près 2 opérations j ai pris du poids 74 kgs alors que je pesais avant 64 kgs impossible de les perdre et grâce a vous j ai repris l envie de m’habiller merci de partager vos idées

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

PRIVACY POLICY

We do not share personal information with third-parties nor do we store information we collect about your visit to this blog for use other than to analyze content performance through the use of cookies, which you can turn off at anytime by modifying your Internet browser’s settings. We are not responsible for the republishing of the content found on this blog on other Web sites or media without express permission. This privacy policy is subject to change without notice.